The “townland”, a term exclusive to Ireland, defines its smallest officially recognised unit of territory. Of the 62,000 townlands in Ireland, 9,700 are in Northern Ireland. Ranging in size from a ¼ of an acre to 7,012 acres they are one of the most dominant, although invisible features of the landscape. They are of great antiquity and there is evidence of their existence before the 12th century. These small administrative units are combined to form a parish, with a number of parishes forming a barony. Listed below are the townlands surrounding Cullybackey.


Artibrannan Townland Cullybackey Townland Galgorm Parks
Ballyclosh Townland Dreen Townland Kildowney Townland
Ballyconnelly Townland Dromore Townland Killycowan Townland
Ballywatermoy Townland Drumrankin Townland Killyless Townland
Broughdone Townland Dunminning Townland Loan Townland
Carclinty Townland Dunnygarron Townland Moylarg Townland
Cardonaghy Townland Fenagh Townland Tullygrawley Townland
Craigs Townland Fenaghy Townland  
Total Page Visits: 6007 - Today Page Visits: 1